The Antibiotic Song!

While studying the other day, I was inspired.  I haven’t posted about antibiotics yet, which I think is due to a tad of what we in psychiatry call “harm avoidant behavior”.  No one ever thought it would happen, but I kind of get tired of antibiotics.  I mean, they are super cool, don’t get me wrong, but because those damn bugs keep coming up with new ways to resist drugs, the drugs have to keep changing too.  It wears me out, man.  Anyway, for your amusement, I have written a song about some of my favorite antibiotics.

The Antibiotic Song (To the tune of “Swimming, Swimming”*) 

Antibiotics stop bacteria

But they do it in different ways, so I wrote a song!

Bacteriostatic, bactericidal, narrow and broad spectrum,

And the urinary antiseptic nitrofurantoin!

Erythromycin, clindamycin, sulfamethoxazole

Tetracycline, teglacycline, chloramphenicol!

These drugs stop the replicatión

And some can even kill the bugs with concentratión!

Speaking of killing rods and cocci

Might I recommend to you an aminoglycoside?

Gentamicin, tobramycin, streptomycin too!

Just watch out for your kidneys and your tender vestibules!

Some drugs like to go on killing sprees

We keep them close so you won’t get a drug resistant disease!

Linezolid and amikacin, some fluoroquinolones

Imipenem and polymixins you should just say NO!

If you were stupid in 1982

You might have wasted Vanco on some people with “the flu”

VRE seems to have settled in

But you can clean your innards with some daptomy-cin!

Metronidazole kills rods and protozoa

But don’t drink brandy with this drug or you will yack all over!

For that problem there are other drugs!

They block your serotonin and give vomiting the plug!

But now I need to not procrastinate

So antiemetics and incretin mimetics are going to have to wait!

Pharm is so much better when you can sing along

You may not completely agree with me

But maybe you’re just WRONG!

*For the tune, go to

Leave a Reply

